God’s Got Your Back

Ever been cheated? Exploited? Falsely accused? I’m convinced there’s nothing more frustrating, more maddening than when people don’t tell the truth. It kind of sort of makes me want to scream! And yell from the height of heaven THE TRUTH. And print it in bold letters on the side of my van. And make t-shirts. And hats. And buy lots of spray paint. And posters. And absolutely post it all over social media. (Know the temptation?)


Devotional Scripture: Genesis 30:25-31:16
Key Verse: “He is a shield to those who walk in integrity, guarding the paths of justice and watching over the way of his saints.” (Prov. 2:7b-8)


I can still feel the anxiety that brewed within me the night we were falsely accused. I was stunned. hurt. confused. and instantly ready to fight. How dare they! I was on the verge of appointing myself head of t-shirt design when I looked down and saw my notes for a devo I was posting the next morning. At the top in big bold print were four words. Four little words spoken by God to Abraham but in that moment meant just for me. Words I’d meditated on for a week with little idea how precious they’d become (but God knew). Words that simply read: I. am. your. shield.

I was dumbfounded. Completely stunned by God’s undeniable love and protection for my man and I in that moment. No longer was I overwhelmed by an absolutely absurd accusation but by a sovereign God who wasn’t surprised or taken off guard. A God who does all things with perfect timing! A God who loves that which is right and true and had our back.

“For all his ways are justice” (Deut. 32:4). “He is a shield to those who walk in integrity, guarding the paths of justice and watching over the way of his saints” (Prov. 2:7b-8). “A stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble” (Ps. 9:9). “A righteous judge, and a God who feels indignation every day” (Ps. 7:11).

We need not lash out. Strike back. Or get even. He’ll take care it. As He did for Jacob when Laban changed his wages ten times and hid all the speckled and spotted sheep and goats a three days journey away, aftering agreeing with Jacob he could indeed have them for payment. It wasn’t right. And it certainly wasn’t fair. Jacob, though far from perfect, had served Laban honestly and faithfully for fourteen years. Prospering Laban greatly.

But Jacob didn’t rant. He didn’t rave (like I probably would have). He went on with life. Initiating a crazy breeding program in which the strongest of the flocks bred in front of water troughs filled with peeled sticks that apparently caused them to bring forth striped, speckled, and spotted young. Or so it seemed. Whether or not the peeled sticks actually helped is irrelevant in my mind because the credit went to God.

In a speech to his wives Jacob declared God’s sovereignty in the matter. “You know that I have served your father with all my strength, yet your father has cheated me and changed my wages ten times. But God did not permit him to harm me. If he said, ‘The spotted shall be your wages,’ then all the flock bore spotted; and if he said, ‘The striped shall be your wages,’ then all the flock bore striped. Thus God has taken away the livestock of your father and given them to me.” (31:6-9).

God had his back! Because “Unequal weights are an abomination to the LORD” (Prov. 20:23). And he hates lying and false witness and a heart that devises evil and “one who sows discord among brothers” (Prov. 6:19). So He’ll take care of it! We have to trust He’ll take care of it! Maybe not as we would. And maybe not as quickly as we’d hope. But he will. Either in this life or the next. “The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom” (2 Tim. 4:18). Because He loves the righteous…and He’s got their back.

Sweet friends God’s not called us to take care of the situation (whatever it may be). He’s simply called us to live faithfully through it. Giving Him the glory as we do so. Knowing full well He sees. He knows. And He is faithful to his children. To those who love Him and worship Him and walk according to His word.

“Do not say, “I will repay evil” wait for the LORD, and he will deliver you” (Prov. 20:22). Quite possibly the hardest thing you and I will ever do is nothing. Absolutely nothing. No spray paint. No posters. No social media announcements as we wait for God to act. To work good in our hearts and those who slight us. But we CAN do it. In His strength. By His spirit. A spirit of power and love and self-control (2 Tim. 1:7).

So let’s do it…let’s act righteously in the face of unrighteousness. Because He’ll take care it. He’s promised to take care of it. Don’t worry my friend – God’s got your back.

Contemplate and Evaluate:
When have you been unjustly treated or accused? How did you respond?
Is it hard for you to trust God has your back? Why or why not?
In what way and with whom do you need to wait on the LORD’s deliverance today?

image

One thought on “God’s Got Your Back

Leave a Reply

