Is Anything too Hard

He sat on the other side of her tent door. The Creator of the universe. Did she know it? Did Sarah have any idea whom it was that ate her freshly baked cakes? Do we? Do we have any idea whose majesty is all around us? Any idea whom it is that stands at the door and knocks (Rev. 3:20)? If we really did maybe we’d be a bit more eager to open the door. And a weee bit more content to stay for a while.

In the presence of He who made us. He who loves us. He who pursues us…As he did Sarah.


Devotional Scripture: Genesis 18:9-15
Key Verse: “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27


This entire episode puzzled me for a bit. It appears as though God reveals his plan of Isaac to Abraham in chapter 17 and then a few days later to Sarah in chapter 18. But how could Abraham have kept such news from Sarah? I mean this is unbelievably exciting stuff! Wouldn’t Abraham have been bursting at the seems to tell his wife? This is what she had dreamed of her entire life. A baby! And now it was to happen at 90 years old. Incredible!

Not to mention kings were to come from them! By the way honey, God changed your name to Sarah today. (meaning princess.) Royalty Sarah! You’re royalty! And my new name… Abraham, that’s right my love “father of a multitude.” Oh and our son’s name is to be Isaac and he’ll be born about this time next year. Can you believe it??

Excuse me Abram or Abraham whatever your name is…what did you just say? Personally I think Abraham told her every word. How could he not? But Sarah just couldn’t believe it. Call it a lack of faith or maybe even a safeguard against disappointment. The fact of the matter is I can’t fault her for it. My own lack of faith won’t let me.

How often do I limit God? How often do I think “impossible.” It’s simply impossible. Not gonna happen. No way. How often do I take matters into my own hands because I’m just not sure if God will really take care of it? How often do I whine and complain disbelieving this is really the best path for me? Really God? This is the road you want me to walk? Thanks, but no thanks. I’ll take it from here.

But God doesn’t give up on me. And he didn’t give up on Sarah. He asked Abraham “Where is Sarah your wife?” God knew where she was. But he was drawing her – closer to himself. “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah your wife shall have a son” (v. 10). He lovingly allowed her to hear the words from his own lips.

He didn’t just pop in for some good eats. He came for a purpose. To reveal himself to Sarah as the God for whom nothing is impossible. Nothing! Has it sunk in yet? God’s power has no bounds. His plans never fail. Job learned it. “I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted” (Job 42:2). Jeremiah lived it. “Ah, Lord God! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched arm! Nothing is too hard for you” (Jeremiah 32:17). Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego held on to it. “Our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace” (Daniel 3:17). The disciples were taught it “But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible” (Matt. 19:26). Mary had to come to grips with it. “How will this be, since I am a virgin?” (Luke 1:34) Gabriel’s response: “For nothing will be impossible with God” (Luke 1:37).

But what about you? Has the revelation of God’s ceaseless power seized your heart? Embracing you with peace and composure? Stilling your restlessness. Calming your anxiety. “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?” (Jeremiah 32:27). Have you come to grips with it? Learned it? Lived it? Proclaimed it?

I’d say Sarah certainly did. On her journey to motherhood. Beginning that day in her tent. When she laughed to herself at the implausible idea of a baby at ninety – her body no longer what it needed to be. To her utter dismay she heard the King of Kings ask Abraham “Why did Sarah laugh…?” I can’t help but wonder at her surprise. Her bewilderment. How did he know I laughed? I didn’t laugh (not out loud at least). Yet the God in whom nothing is impossible knew what was in her heart. And simply responded “No, but you did laugh.”

Oh how I wish we could have stayed in the tent with Sarah a few more verses. Because a heart which comes to realize nothing is impossible for God is a heart that rejoices in the unimaginable possibilities of life. Living amidst hope even in the most dire and devastating circumstances. Knowing beyond a shadow of a doubt he CAN make all things work together for my good and his glory (Rom. 8:28). He CAN reach my lost loved ones. He CAN make me more like Christ. He CAN heal (though he may choose not to for the sake of eternal purposes). He CAN save us. He CAN in fact do more than I could ever ask or imagine (Eph. 3:20).

So how bout it believer? Is anything too hard for the LORD? Anything too wonderful? May the revelation of God’s ceaseless power seize your heart today.

Contemplate and Evaluate:
What situation or area of your life have you viewed as too hard for the LORD?
Does your faith have limits because your “God” has limits? What do you need to trust God with today? Remember…nothing is too hard for the LORD.image

Leave a Reply

