Genesis 1

Devotional: Genesis 1

If your life as at all like mine then it’s a little chaotic at times. Having 4 kids under the age of 8 can make for a bit of disorder in our house. For some reason things always get a little crazy when it’s time to make dinner: Inevitably my daughter needs all 57 of her colored pencils sharpened RIGHT NOW; the baby wants up; the water for my green beans boils over; my 2 year old decides to get a snack for himself and spills the bag of fishies all over the floor (at least the baby’s happy for a few minutes); my 8 year old is frantically yelling from the other room for a Kleenex afraid the snot rocket he just sneezed out (past his chin mind you) is gonna drop on my new carpet; my hands are covered in chicken slime; and all I really want to do is curl up on the floor and wave my little white flag in surrender (or escape on the next flight to Aruba). Can anyone relate? I bet you can! Maybe for you it’s work that’s chaotic or trying to balance between work and home.  Throw in a few night classes to keep up your credentials and your kid’s basketball schedule and you’re ready to join me on the next flight to Aruba! Life is crazy! Don’t you agree? Sometimes it feels like I’m holding the world up but I’m not. Jesus is! And he is a master at making order out of chaos. Dig with me into Genesis 1:

Two important things to note when you read the creation account in Genesis. First of all it was written by Moses who received it directly from God. Exodus 33:11 says “Thus the LORD used to speak to Moses face to face, as a man speaks to his friend.” Moses was educated by the Egyptians not by accident, but so he would have the skill to write everything down! But Moses’ purpose in writing was not to give a detailed account of creation, for who of us could even understand it if he did. But his purpose was to establish God as creator and sovereign ruler of all. It was not three different gods that created the sun, moon, and stars as the Egyptians believed but it was Elohim, God alone.  And as far as God’s concerned that’s all we needed to know!

Secondly, God brought the universe forth through the power of his spoken Word. John 1:1-2 and verse 14 state that “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us.” The text is speaking of Jesus. Therefore we can conclude two things: 1. Jesus is God 2. Jesus was there in the beginning. But he wasn’t just a spectator at creation. HE  DID THE CREATING! In Genesis 1 the Word spoke, Jesus spoke, and the heavens and earth came to be. Colossians 1:16 states, “For by him [Jesus] all things were created, in heaven and on earth.” (Also check out Hebrews 1:2-3)

As far as the Bible is concerned there is no discrepancy that Jesus is the creator of all things. The Hebrew word used in Genesis 1 for “created” is “bara” which denotes creating something from nothing. It’s a word used only of God in the Scriptures. You see it in Genesis 1:1, 21, and 27. Job 26:7 says of God, “He stretches out the north over the void and hangs the earth on nothing.” But Genesis 1 doesn’t just emphasize “bara” but paints a picture of Jesus ordering the cosmos into place, naming, shaping, categorizing, and assigning roles and function.

Follow with me: God separated the light from the darkness (1:4). He gathered the waters together in one place (1:9). He named the dry land Earth and the waters Seas (1:10). He assigned the sun and moon each their job (1:16). He placed each of the stars where he wanted them (100 billion just in our galaxy) and gave each star a name according to Psalm 147:4. Each tree and plant brought forth seeds and fruit each according to it’s own kind. He made the sea and land creatures each according to their own kinds. Research shows at least 210,000 marine life forms alone. Yes Jesus was certainly busy creating but he was also busy placing, shaping, and perfectly ordering all of creation.

But what really gets me excited is the Hebrew meaning of “without form and void” in verse 2.. That particular phrase indicates chaos, confusion, and disorder. Interesting huh! God took chaos and confusion and made it “good” or towb which can also mean beautiful, best, bountiful, well-pleasing, and fruitful. God took chaos and turned it into something beautiful! He took confusion and made it fruitful. He gave order where there was absolutely none!

Is there chaos and disorder in your life?? There is mine! And if I’m being honest I usually don’t handle it well. When I feel like life is spiraling out of control it’s often because I’ve placed unrealistic expectations on myself or on my day. Expectations that aren’t necessarily bad but aren’t rooted in His will and desire. (Are you guilty of this too?) Just for fun I looked up the definition of disorder. The first definition I found said “a state of confusion: tiresome days of mess.” I couldn’t have said it better myself! Do you feel like your life is tiresome days of mess? Just think what might happen if you let Jesus order your day! If he could perfectly order 100 billion stars certainly he could handle you and me! “For God is not a God of confusion but of peace” (1 Cor. 14:33).

My friend I pray your heart is encouraged today by the magnificent fact that our Savior and King is also the Creator and he is a master at making bedlam into beauty. But you have to be willing to let him!


2 thoughts on “Genesis 1

  1. It was great seeing you at Monica’s this weekend! Visiting with you is so encouraging and you shine the light if Christ so brightly! I really enjoy your blog, I especially liked the Old Teatament post! You have a gift for writing and sharing His truth, keep it up!
    PS – We will have to get together sometime so I can have my first tasting of sugar cream pie from a born and raised Hoosier baker! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

